The Studio Albums: 1992-2003

Mike Oldfield Mike Oldfield


  1. Sentinel
  2. Dark Star
  3. Clear Light
  4. Blue Saloon
  5. Sunjammer
  6. Red Dawn
  7. Bell
  8. Weightless
  9. Great Plain
  10. Sunset Door
  11. Tattoo
  12. Altered State
  13. Maya Gold
  14. Moonshine


  1. In The Beginning
  2. Let There Be Light
  3. Supernova
  4. Magellan
  5. First Landing
  6. Oceania
  7. Only Time Will Tell
  8. Prayer For The Earth
  9. Lament For Atlantis
  10. Chamber
  11. Hibernaculum
  12. Tubular World
  13. Shining Ones
  14. Crystal Clear
  15. Sunken Forest
  16. Ascension
  17. New Beginning


  1. The Song of the Sun
  2. Celtic Rain
  3. The Hero
  4. Women of Ireland
  5. The Voyager
  6. She Moves Through the Fair
  7. Dark Island
  8. Wild Goose Flaps Its Wings
  9. Flowers of the Forest
  10. Mont St. Michel


  1. Source of Secrets
  2. Watchful Eye
  3. Jewel In The Crown
  4. Outcast
  5. Serpent Dream
  6. The Inner Child
  7. Man in the Rain
  8. The Top Of The morning
  9. Moonwatch
  10. Secrets
  11. Far Above The Clouds


  1. Muse
  2. Cochise
  3. Embers
  4. Summit Day
  5. Out of Sight
  6. B Blues
  7. Four Winds
  8. Enigmatism
  9. Out of Mind
  10. From the Ashes


  1. Peace On Earth
  2. Pacha Mama
  3. Santa Maria
  4. Sunlight Shining Through Cloud
  5. The Doge's Palace
  6. Lake Constance
  7. Mastermind
  8. Broad Sunlit Uplands
  9. Liberation
  10. Amber Light
  11. The Millennium Bell


  1. Misty
  2. No Mans Land
  3. Return To The Origin
  4. Landfall
  5. Viper
  6. Turte Island
  7. To Be Free
  8. Fire Fly
  9. Tres Lunas
  10. Daydream
  11. Thou Art In Heaven
  12. Sirius
  13. No Mans Land (Reprise)
  14. To Be Free (Radio Edit)


  1. Introduction
  2. Fast Guitars
  3. Basses
  4. Latin
  5. A Minor Tune
  6. Blues
  7. Thrash
  8. Jazz
  9. Ghost Bells
  10. Russian
  11. Finale
  12. Harmonics
  13. Peace
  14. Bagpipe Guitars
  15. Caveman
  16. Ambient Guitars
  17. The Sailor's Hornpipe

Mike Oldfield is best-known for his 1973 one-man symphony, Tubular Bells, a chart topper in his native England and a Grammy® winner in 1975. During his decade-long stint at Warner Bros., the musician and composer released four sequels, as well as four eclectic studio albums.   

After leaving Virgin Records, Oldfield joined the Warner Bros. roster in 1992 and released his first sequel, Tubular Bells II, which climbed to the top of the chart in England. Tom Newman (who engineered the original) and Trevor Horn joined Oldfield as producers for the album, which includes the singles “Sentinel,” “Tattoo” and “The Bell.” Another sequel arrived in 1998 with Tubular Bells III, which was followed a year later by another installment in the series, The Millennium Bell. With Tubular Bells 2003, Oldfield revisited the original album and re-recorded it so he could take advantage of technological advances in the studio that were unavailable to him in the early Seventies.

The other four albums heard in this collection reflect a wide range of musical styles, starting with his follow-up to Tubular Bells II, 1994’s The Songs of Distant Earth. A novel by the same name inspired him to record the album. The book was written by sci-fi master Arthur Clarke. Clarke approved of the results and even wrote a forward for the album.

Oldfield returned in 1996 with an album that marked a dramatic stylistic departure. Voyager is a Celtic-themed album that’s filled mainly with traditional Scottish and Irish songs. To record the music, Oldfield used a mix of traditional, acoustic instruments as well as synthesizers. For 1999’s Guitars, the musician recorded all of the music using only electric, acoustic and synthesizer guitars. The millennium Bell was written to usher in the new Millennium at a live concert in the center of Berlin in front of 500,000 people.

The Studio Albums: 1992-2003 • The Studio Albums: 1992-2003 • The Studio Albums: 1992-2003 • The Studio Albums: 1992-2003 •

Želite biti obveščeni o vseh novostih in dogodkih, ki se pri nas odvijajo?

Prijavite se na naša e-obvestila