50 Years Of De-Evolution: 1973 – 2023 (Blue & Red Vinyl) (Exclusive)



  1. Mongoloid – Warner Version
  2. Jocko Homo – Warner Version
  3. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
  4. Come Back Jonee – Single Edit
  5. Secret Agent Man
  6. The Day My Baby Gave Me A Surprize


  1. Smart Patrol
  2. Girl U Want
  3. Whip It
  4. Freedom Of Choice
  5. Gates Of Steel
  6. Working In The Coal Mine


  1. Beautiful World
  2. Jerkin’ Back ’n’ Forth
  3. Through Being Cool
  4. Love Without Anger
  5. Time Out For Fun
  6. Peek-a-Boo!
  7. That’s Good


  1. Big Mess
  2. Here To Go – Go Mix Version
  3. Are You Experienced?
  4. Disco Dancer – 7” Version
  5. Post Post-Modern Man – Macro Post-Modern Mix
  6. Fresh


Devo marks half a century of de-evolution as the trailblazing band resumes their global tour this fall. Rhino pays tribute to the influential group today, unveiling a new career-spanning boxed set that encompasses all of Devo’s hits and a selection of rarities.

50 Years Of De-Evolution (1973-2023) will arrive in various configurations on October 20. The first is a 4-LP set pressed on clear vinyl that’s limited to 3,000 copies worldwide, available exclusively from Rhino.com. This deluxe version comes in a slipcase with a 28-page book, a Devo air freshener, and a foldable paper hat that resembles the band’s iconic red energy domes. Additionally, a lithograph of the album artwork is included. A 2-CD version of the 50-song collection will also be available.

On the same day, a 25-song version of 50 Years Of De-Evolution (1973-2023) will be released as a 2-LP set on black vinyl, and a 2-LP special edition featuring blue and red vinyl will be available exclusively at retail. Today, the 7” version of “Disco Dancer” from the upcoming set is making its streaming debut.

"In the past this information has been suppressed. But now it can be told. Come celebrate 50 years of De-evolution with a mind-blowing, 50th Anniversary box set from Devo." states Gerald Casale.

Mark Mothersbaugh adds “this box set represents a great cross section of early experiments and later creations.  I was looking to create a new sound, a concept in art and music that represented a new way of thinking about life on planet earth.   With Devo, I think we did just that. Farewell to the first 50, Let's get the next 50 started!”

Devo was formed in 1973 by two sets of brothers – Bob and Gerald Casale and Bob and Mark Mothersbaugh – and Alan Myers. The band took its name from the concept of de-evolution – the notion that society is regressing rather than progressing. It was their response to the infamous 1970 shootings at Kent State University, which some band members witnessed while attending the school.

Devo started out performing around Akron, Ohio and garnered early support from David Bowie and Iggy Pop, helping the group secure a deal with Warner Bros. Records. Soon after, the band began working with legendary producer Brian Eno on its 1978 debut, Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo!. The album was an underground success despite the mainstream music press overlooking Devo’s insightful cultural satire.

A year later, the band returned with Duty Now for the Future before achieving mainstream recognition in 1980 with its platinum-certified third album, Freedom of Choice, which included the hit single “Whip It.” The song’s iconic music video became a fixture on MTV, contributing to Devo’s growing popularity in the 1980s. That decade saw the band release more hits (“Beautiful World” and “That’s Good”) and a string of memorable studio albums: New Traditionalist (1981), Oh No! It’s Devo (1982), Shout! (1984), and Total Devo (1988). After 1990’s Smooth Noodle Maps, the band took an extended hiatus to pursue film and television projects before returning in 2010 with Something for Everybody.

Today, Devo’s innovative music and thought-provoking performances are celebrated for their profound influence on generations of new-wave, industrial, and electronic artists. 50 Years Of De-Evolution (1973-2023) stands as a testament to the band’s legacy, compiling key tracks from all nine of Devo’s studio albums, as well as rarities like the 1974 demo for “I’m A Potato” and single mixes for “Come Back Jonee,” “Snowball,” and “What We Do.”

50 Years Of De-Evolution: 1973 – 2023 (Blue & Red Vinyl) (Exclusive) • 50 Years Of De-Evolution: 1973 – 2023 (Blue & Red Vinyl) (Exclusive) • 50 Years Of De-Evolution: 1973 – 2023 (Blue & Red Vinyl) (Exclusive) • 50 Years Of De-Evolution: 1973 – 2023 (Blue & Red Vinyl) (Exclusive) •

Želite biti obveščeni o vseh novostih in dogodkih, ki se pri nas odvijajo?

Prijavite se na naša e-obvestila