Classical Glasba Number of Items:

Elizabethan Lute Songs

Various Artists CD2

Elizabethan Lute Songs (2019)

Format: CD2 - Glasba

Code: 190295543150


  1. O mistress mine
  2. Take, O take those lips away
  3. Gray’s Inn Masque
  4. Wilson’s Wild
  5. The Willow Song
  6. Melancholy Galliard
  7. Full fathom five
  8. Where the bee sucks
  9. Care-charming sleep
  10. Eliza is the fairest queen
  11. The noble famous queen
  12. Gaiarda la Royne d’Escosse
  13. The Queen’s Galliard
  14. Miserere my Maker
  15. Away with these self-loving lads
  16. Lasso vita mia
  17. Mr George Whitehead his Almand
  18. Now, O now I needs must part
  19. In darkness let me dwell
  20. Se l’aura spira
  21. Morto son io
  22. Fantasia for lute
  23. Tortorella
  24. So ben mi ch’a bon tempo



  1. Symphony: Largo – Allegro – Adagio
  2. Come ye Sons of Art
  3. Sound the trumpet
  4. Come ye Sons of Art
  5. Strike the viol 4:50 Countertenor II
  6. The day that such a blessing gave
  7. Bid the Virtues
  8. These are the sacred charms
  9. See Nature, rejoicing
  10. Symphony
  11. Love’s goddess sure
  12. Those eyes, that form
  13. Sweetness of Nature
  14. Long may she reign
  15. May her blest example chase
  16. Many such days
  17. May she to Heaven
  18. As much as we below shall mourn



Countertenor James Bowman (b.1941) enjoyed a long association with early English song, an interest which bore fruit with this 1972 recording of Elizabethan lute songs, here making its first appearance on CD. Together with the lutenist Robert Spencer, Bowman arranged the programme to reflect the repertory of the theatre and court and the career of John Dowland, with a final homage to Italy, the cradle of early song. The recordings of Purcell’s Birthday Odes date from 1975. Between 1689 and 1694, Henry Purcell produced an annual ode for the celebration of Queen Mary’s birthday. The last and best known is Come, Ye Sons of Art, which drew on the composer’s recent successes in the theatre by employing a larger orchestra than usual (with trumpets, oboes and recorders) and giving the chorus a more prominent role.


Price: 8,99 €

Other albums

Zadnje novice

Ava Max - Who's Laughing Now

Friday, 31 July 2020

Corey Taylor - CMFT

Thursday, 30 July 2020

Jason Derulo - Take You Dancing

Wednesday, 29 July 2020

My Cart

Your Cart is Empty.


Subscribe to NIKA Newsletter:

© Nika d.o.o. 2014-2020. All rights reserved. Cookie Management

Website by KABI d.o.o.

This site uses cookies for better performance and user experience. Do you agree to use of cookies?

Find out more

Cookies on our web page

What is Cookie?

A cookie is a small piece of data sent from a website and stored in a user's web browse while a user is browsing a website. When the user browses the same website in the future, the data stored in the cookie can be retrieved by the website to notify the website of the user's previous activity

How do we use cookies?

A visit to a this page could generate the following types of cookie.

Strictly necessary cookies

These cookies are essential in order to enable you to move around the website and use its features, such as accessing secure areas of the website. Without these cookies services you have asked for, like shopping baskets or e-billing, cannot be provided.

2. Performance cookies

These cookies collect information about how visitors use a website, for instance which pages visitors go to most often, and if they get error messages from web pages. These cookies don’t collect information that identifies a visitor. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. It is only used to improve how a website works.

3. Functionality cookies

These cookies allow the website to remember choices you make (such as your user name, language or the region you are in) and provide enhanced, more personal features. For instance, a website may be able to provide you with local weather reports or traffic news by storing in a cookie the region in which you are currently located. These cookies can also be used to remember changes you have made to text size, fonts and other parts of web pages that you can customise. They may also be used to provide services you have asked for such as watching a video or commenting on a blog. The information these cookies collect may be anonymised and they cannot track your browsing activity on other websites.

4. Targeting and advertising cookies

These cookies are used to deliver adverts more relevant to you and your interests They are also used to limit
the number of times you see an advertisement as well as help measure the effectiveness of the advertising campaign. They are usually placed by advertising networks with the website operator’s permission. They remember that you have visited a website and this information is shared with other organisations such as advertisers. Quite often targeting or advertising cookies will be linked to site functionality provided by the other organisation.

Cookie management

Cookies can be managed via the web browser settings. Please, see you browser help how to manage cookies.

On this site you can always turn cookies on/off on menu item “Cookie Management”.

Website management

This website is managed by:

Nika Records d.o.o.